Skip to content

And It All Leads Up To The Now

April 22, 2013

This semester we have studied everything from the creation of the universe to black holes to microscopic bacteria living on the bottom of the ocean floor. The range of topics covered in this class has helped round my view of the beginnings of time up until now and clarified many common misconceptions ranging from tides to the moon to Pluto and to the existence of intelligent life elsewhere. I also have learned so much about my own planet that I had never really considered and how our environment is so amazing. We have to do what we can to protect it! One of the things I believe I will be most excited to keep an eye on is the development of technology such as telescopes that will allows us to better find and observe extrasolar planets that we otherwise would not be able to see.  Thinking about how expansive our universe is, and how many billions upon billions of stars and other galaxies there probably are, there is no reason not to think that there does not exist an environment like ours elsewhere. I also can’t wait for the day Star Wars is brought to life and we can finally observe some of these worlds first hand by travelling at light speed. It can happen!

I think the video below does a great job of summarizing a lot of the main themes and topics we have covered this summer that are so important for our understanding of the past as we look towards the future. Click on the video to be taken to the original site.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment